February 14, 2018

5:30 p.m.


Committee Members Present:  Chair:  Pia Holmes; Jason Bersani, Tom Connors


Board Members Present:  Christopher Clarke, Staci Fortunato, Edward Hastings


Administrators Present:  James Anastasio, Donna Madore, Teresa Beaudoin, Sue Dionne, Heather Gauthier, Kim Silsby, Theresa Violette


Others Present:  Christine Blaisdell, Paula Bourque, Nicole Clark, Stanley Colburn, Maureen Cooper, Jessica DeJongh, Caroline Eldridge, Pat Hannigan, Renee Henry, Dan Johnston, Nasya Monroe, Kathy Toothaker, Jessica West


1.  Presentation by Grades 6-8 Math Research Team

          Attachment 1


Jessica West, Math Coach, said for the last two years the Math Research Team has been piloting new math programs because of concerns with the current CMP3 program.  They reviewed Connected Mathematics 3, enVisionmath 2.0, Illustrative Mathematics, Go Math, Eureka, and Glencoe.   Based on criteria and student response, the research team decided to recommend that the Board adopt enVisionmath 2.0. 


Motion by Tom Connors to move the enVisionmath 2.0 Math curriculum to the board for approval.  Second by Jason Bersani, so moved 3-0.


2.  Presentation by the ELA Research Team

          Attachment 2


The k-6 ELA Research team led by Donna Madore has been researching a new ELA curriculum for the school department for the past two years.  Paula Bourque, Literacy Coach, said our current ELA program does not align with the state standards and materials are outdated and expensive to replace.  The goal was to create a research team to review and make recommendations on a new ELA literacy program curriculum.  The team set criteria for selection and piloted several programs which include:

  • Units of Study (Lucy Calkins from Heinemann)
  • Reading Street (Pearson basal 4-6)
  • Locally designed, (standards-based curriculum)
  • Being a Reader/Making Meaning (Center for Collaborative Classroom)
  • Wonders (McGraw Hill)


The ELA Research Team recommends Being a Reader/Making Meaning (Center for Collaborative Classroom) as the new ELA curriculum program.


Motion by Jason Bersani to move the Center for Collaborative Classroom ELA curriculum to the board for approval.  Second by Tom Connors, so moved 3-0.


Meeting adjourned at 6:35 p.m.